The City of Louisville Council consists of five members, elected on a nonpartisan basis. Council positions are at-large and members represent the interests of the City as a whole. The members, including the Mayor-Council Member, serve staggered four year terms. Citizen input is essential for council to set general policy directions for the City. Citizen advisory committees are appointed by council for increasing citizen input. Under the Home Charter Rule, council hires a professional City Manager who is responsible for the implementation of policies set by council and supervises the operation of City government. The arrangement provides a democratic structure that facilitates the attainment of responsive and efficient City management.