History of Louisville, Ohio

Welcome to Louisville, Ohio, Constitution Town!
On October 8, 1834, Louisville was formally settled by Henry Lautzenheiser, and Henry Fainot. The City was named after Lautzenheiser's son, Lewis, and called Lewisville. When the post office was established in 1837, it was discovered Ohio already had a Lewisville, so the spelling was changed to Louisville. 
In 1952, Louisville resident Olga T. Weber petitioned municipal officials to establish Constitution Day, in honor of the ratification of the US Constitution in 1789. Presiding Mayor Gerald A. Romary proclaimed September 17, 1952, as Constitution Day in the City. The following April, Weber requested that the Ohio General Assembly proclaim September 17 as state-wide Constitution Day. Her request was signed into law by Governor Frank J. Lausche. Weber didn't stop there. In August 1953, she urged the United States Senate to pass a resolution designating September 17-23 as Constitution Week. The Senate and House approved her request and it was signed into law by President Dwight D. Eisenhower. On April 15, 1957, the City Council of Louisville declared the City Constitution Town. The Ohio State Archaeological and Historical Society later donated four historical markers, located at the four main entrances to the City, explaining Louisville's role as originator of Constitution Day.
The City's population has steadily increased during the last 100 years, with the most active growth occurring in the 1920s and 1950s. Even when every other City in Stark County lost population, Louisville continued to grow. When Louisville passed the 5,000 population mark in the 1950s, its status changed from a village to a City. Currently (2020 census), 9,521 residents proudly call Louisville home.